Chinese Bridge
Delegation Online


Southern Medical University(SMU)


About SMU





Southern Medical University(SMU), previously known as the First Military Medical University (FMMU) of the Chinese People's Liberation Army, was founded in 1951 and qualified as among national key universities in 1979. SMU established its current name in August 2004 when FMMU was officially devolved to the administration of Guangdong Province. The university enrolls students from 31 provincial-level administrative regions (provinces, autonomous regions and municipalities directly under the Central Government) as well as Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan. SMU has 21 teaching institutions and provides 30 undergraduate programs, including 7 state-level characteristic disciplines,16 provincial characteristic disciplines, 6 provincial prestigious disciplines and 20 national first-class bachelor degree programs. SMU has 14100 full-time undergraduates, 7692 postgraduates and 1012 international students.




SMU owns 5 state-level key academic disciplines, 6 ones approved by the State Administration of Traditional Chinese Medicine and 10 key disciplines in Guangdong Province. SMU is ranked 52nd in the nation in ESI rankings, with 9 academic disciplines in the top 1% and clinical medicine in the top 1‰ of ESI global rankings.

SMU now has 10 first-level disciplines with authorization of doctor degree, 16 first-level disciplines with authorization of master degree, 2 doctoral programs, 14 master programs and 8 post-doctoral mobile research centers. To date, SMU has built its complete multidisciplinary system with medicine as the hub and science, engineering, law, management, literature and linguistics and pedagogy, the supports.